Riddim Driven ~ Wipe Out
VP Records
October 24, 2006

Track list
  1. Wipe Out (Version)
  2. Me And Oonu - Buju Banton
  3. Gun Battle - Movado
  4. Agent 009 - Tony Matterhorn
  5. Look Alike - Flippa Mafia
  6. Punnany Rally - Bounty Killer
  7. Shake It - Future Troubles
  8. Roll Out - Voicemail
  9. Squeezing Me - Lady Saw
  10. Goody - CÚCile
  11. Ugly - T.O.K.
  12. Fire Fe Dem - Bunji Garlin
  13. Dancing Is Here To Stay - Wayne Anthony feat. Ding Dong
  14. Tough Talk - Idonia
  15. Nothing On Me - Tanto Metro & Devonte
  16. Nowhere To Run - Mitch
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Built on a guitar riff from the Surfaris' 1962 hit "Wipe Out" this riddim produced by Albert 'Jigsy' Hamilton & Roderick 'Penny Bling' Hamilton for Craig Daseca's Danger Zone was one of THE summer hit riddims and it's so irresistable nobody can keep himself from dancing even if seated in a chair. Anyone reading my (one riddim) reviews regularly knows my usual complaint when a clean version of the tune isn't included, and this time VP Records in their Riddim Driven series make sure not to receive that complaint as this album opens with the incredible "Wipe Out (Version)". Following are some of the outstanding tunes on the riddim, Buju Banton's superb "Me And Oonu" and Movado's excellent "Gun Battle". Tony Matterhorn is doing an excellent byt very slack take on this riddim as well as James Bond clone "Agent 009" who has a license just to wine. Flippa Mafia contributes the fine "Look Alike" before Bounty Killer starts the fireworks again with "Punnany Rally", followed by Future Troubles' over the top "Shake It" and Voicemail's entertaining "Roll Out" both digging the 60s dance craze style. Lady Saw is in fine form on the tribute to her own p#ssy "Squeezing Me" but CÚCile is doing even better on the magnificent "Goody". The other tunes, T.O.K.'s "Ugly", Bunji Garlin's very impressive "Fire Fe Dem", Wayne Anthony in combination with Ding Dong on the poppy "Dancing Is Here To Stay", Idonia's strong "Tough Talk", Tanto Metro & Devonte's "Nothing On Me" and Mitch's (soon to appear on many dubplates I suppose) "Nowhere To Run" show this riddim must have been immense fun to voice for the artists. Riddim and vocals both perfect, clean version opening the album, and still, a big complaint from me: where are Beenie Man's "From U Neva", NYC's Hellrazor Movement's MC Beniton the Menace's "Bop Ur Head" - probably the strongest tune on this riddim -, Elephant Man's "Nah Stray", Vybz Kartel's "Beat It", Mr. Easy's "Spending G's" and Sizzla's "Keep It Moving"? Still leaving a couple of must have tunes not mentioned now ... Is there gonna be a second volume?