Various artists album review
The Dubmasters ~ X-Ray Music A Blood and Fire Dub Dictionary
Blood & Fire

Tracking list

  1. Prince Jammy - Step It Up In Dub
  2. King Tubby - Dub The Right Way
  3. Prince Jammy - Dub There
  4. King Tubby - There's Dub
  5. King Tubby - Morpheus Special
  6. Errol Thompson & Clive Chin - Extraordinary Version
  7. Lee Perry - Noah Sugar Pan
  8. Lee Perry - Rally Dub
  9. Philip Smart - Cool This Dub
  10. King Tubby - Bag A Wire Dub
  11. Scientist - King Tubby's Answer
  12. Karl Piterson & Clive Chin - Shining Dub
  13. King Tubby - Pegasus Rock
  14. Prince Jammy - The Champion Version
  15. Jojo Hookim - Moses Dub
  16. Prince Jammy - Dub Is My Occupation
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

This Blood And Fire sampler -The Dubmasters ~ X-Ray Music A Blood and Fire Dub Dictionary- contains an excellent selection of dubtracks -16 in all- pulled from the releases of the esteemed reissue label Blood And Fire. The music found here probably does not need further introduction, since the label is well known for it's impeccable choice of (lost) treasures from the vaults of reggae music.
All the dubmasters found here -King Tubby, Prince Jammy, Scientist, Lee Perry, and Errol Thompson- were active during the golden era of reggae music, and were responsible for some of the hardest dubcuts ever.
Taken from "Dub Gone Crazy" comes the opening track Step It Up In Dub, the dub cut to Barry Brown's 'Step It Up', and The Campion Version which reworks Johnny Clarke's rockers anthem 'King Of The Arena'. Dub Is My Occupation and Bag A Wire Dub can be found on 'Dub Like Dirt' . Rally Dub, mixed by Lee Perry, comes from 'Yabby You Jesus Dread 1972-1977 ' . The other Lee Perry track -Noah Sugar Pan- is taken from the excellent double cd set 'The Congos : Heart Of The Congos' . Last year the company released the impeccable album 'Forward The Bass - Dub from Randy's 1972-1975' . Two tracks of this set are featured here : Extraordinary Version and Shining Dub. Taken from the Morwells's dub album 'Morwell Unlimited Meet King Tubby's ~ Dub Me' are Morpheus Special and Pegasus Rock.
No new tunes found here, but the album is a wicked introduction the the label's 'dub fi dib' catalogue.

Teacher & Mr. T.