Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
05 - 05 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Man-Bruk
  2. Mr. Vegas - See It Deh Now
  3. Elephant Man - Bumba Claat
  4. Hawkeye - Wha Happen Mum
  5. Sizzla - No Slackness
  6. Harry Toddler - Press Gas
  7. Merciless - Bon Voyage
  8. Frisco Kid - Be Wise
  9. Bounty Killer - Liberty
  10. Ricky Rudie aka Bling Dawg - Pass Dem Remarks
  11. Alozade - Those Hands Nuh
  12. Mr. Vegas - Duppy Durex
  13. Elephant Man - Coob Dem Up
  14. Nitty Kutchie - Cha La La
  15. Buccaneer - Balm The Dead
  16. Jack-A-Diamond - News To The Media
  17. G. Money - Bun Dem Out
  18. Kiprich - Mi Nuh Si Nuting
  19. Okonko - Gideon
  20. Alozade - Rated PG
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

In March 2000 the first installment in the "Greensleeves Rhythm Album" series found its way to the avid dancehall fan and since then the amount of these Greensleeves rhythm albums has noticeably grown. The latest in Greensleeves' handy series finds Jamaican based "In The Streetz" unleashing twenty dancehall cuts of Byron Murray and Clifford "Mr. Vegas" Smith's "X-Treme" riddim. For the "X-Treme" ride the hottest artists on today's ragga/dancehall scene are on board again, joined by such newcomers as the very talented Alozade, Okonko and G. Money.
Mr. Vegas' "Duppy Durex", Bounty Killer's "Liberty" and Buccaneer's "Balm The Dead" have hit the streetz on 7" single, but there's another seventeen cuts here that have not been available in any format before. Thus the dancehall massive is treated to fresher than fresh pieces from the likes of Elephant Man, Hawkeye, Harry Toddler, Merciless, Frisco Kid, Capleton and Sizzla. The latter contributes a sensational and stirring performance on the track "No Slackness", a truly interesting piece regarding the fact that Sizzla recently has been confronted with charges of lyrical dodginess. Besides the Sizzla cut the most stellar recordings for the riddim are Capleton's "Man-Bruk", Frisco Kid's "Be Wise", Bounty Killer's "Liberty", Alozade's "Those Hands Nuh", Mr. Vegas' "Duppy Durex", Nitty Kutchie's "Cha La La", Kiprich's "Mi Nuh Si Nutting" and Okonko's "Gideon". Packed with 20 "X-Treme" dancehall thrillers this brandnew rhythm album will move your feet!

Teacher & Mr. T.