Zero Stress Riddim EP
Digital Release
May 23, 2016

Track list
  1. Luciano - Questions More Than Answers
  2. Kazam Davis & Infinite - Free Yourself Up
  3. Joseph Cotton - Original Copy
  4. Sr. Wilson & Yeyo Perez - No Stress
  5. Shuga - Mr Poverty
  6. Zero Stress Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Rebelmadiaq, a sound system & record label original from Granada (Andalussia) and based in Barcelona (Catalunya), made themselves first known with the February 2015 released "Disobey Riddim", featuring tunes by Luciano, Macka B, Sr Wilson and Irie Souljah. Now they return with the "Zero Stress" riddim, which is inspired by the reggae dancehall riddims developed during the '90s by relevant Jamaican producers such as Donovan Germain and Bobby "Digital" Dixon. Just like the previous riddim, this one features contributions from Luciano and Sr Wilson. New on board are Jamaican veteran deejay Joseph Cotton and young Jamaican artist Kazam Davis, Infinite and Shuga as well as Spanish reggae talent Yeyo Perez.

None other than the Messenjah Luciano leads off this EP and instantly settles the vibes into a serious matter with "Questions More Than Answers", a powereful conscious tune that goes on repeat. Dynamic and versatile reggae artists Kazam Davis and Infinite are part of the new wave of conscious young Reggae artists who attracted notable attention in recent years. Here these two artists join forces on the combination tune "Free Yourself Up", which is a solid offering. Joseph Cotton's old skool deejay style can be enjoyed to the fullest on "Original Copy", a wicked effort that sets the riddim ablaze. Sr. Wilson is an exponent of Spain's new singjay's movement, which has its origins in Roots, Reggae and Dancehall music. He's an artist with an old school flavor in his style as can heard on his albums "Good Man Style" and "Paso Firme" and, of course, also on the decent "No Stress", for which he collaborated with Yeyo Perez. In 2013, female singer Shuga decided to present a more conscious image and message, and thus we are now treated to a song like "Mr Poverty". The latter is a social commentary song delivered in a heartfelt way. Big tune! And it's great to be able to hear to straight version of the riddim, built by Chalart 58 (drums, percussion) and Fede Jahzzman (bass, guitar, keys, melodica) and recorded & mixed by Pablo Lamotta and Chalart 58 at La Panchito Studio on Barcelona.

Although most of the times the avid reggae fan is longing for more artists and tunes on a riddim, especially when a riddim turns out to be a truly worthwhile effort like in this case the "Zero Stress", the good thing about not having too many people voicing a riddim is that the artists involved, in particular the up-and-coming ones, get more exposure compared with juggling sets that include a whole heap of tunes.

All in all well worth checking out!! Also available on 45 for vinyl buyers.