Various artists album review
Zero Tolerance
CD / 2LP
20 - 04 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Push Wood
  2. Sizzla - Empty The Clip
  3. Singer J - Young Black & Beautiful
  4. Harry Toddler - Just Like Mountain
  5. Kulcha Knox - Police
  6. Mad Cobra - Different Thing Now
  7. Bounty Killer - Look War
  8. Anthony B - Forward
  9. Assassin - Keys A Fi Yuh Own
  10. Lexxus - Lord Mi Body
  11. Tony Rebel - Good Boy
  12. Merciless & Pickney - Mi Nah Tek Nuh Talk
  13. Sizzla - Grab On
  14. Nitty Kutchie & Lukie D - Humble Yuh Self
  15. Frisco Kid - Coke Out Themselves
  16. Danny English - Shouting Out My Name
  17. Lexxus - Big Up, Big Up
  18. Natural Black - Princess For Life
  19. Merciless - Come Here
  20. Elephant Man, Capleton, Sizzla & Lexxus - Pum Pum Mix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Greensleeves' twenty-fourth installment in their groundbreaking "Rhythm Album" series is a worthy successor to the two excellent and hotter than hot "Martial Arts" albums. The fresher than fresh new hardcore riddim entitled "Zero Tolerance" follows up earlier Harvel Hart produced riddims for his own "Annex" label and Greensleves Records, namely "Doorslam", "Heatwave" and (partly) Saddam Birthday Party/Jailbreak". Producer Harvel Hart always comes up with something interesting and "Zero Tolerance" is no exception. It's a killer dancehall riddim, definitely Harvel Hart's best to date. Besides the fact that this really good bashment selection features all the big Dancehall names as expected, this set also includes pieces from Kulcha Knox, Anthony B and Tony Rebel, names that usually don't appear on the tracklistings of these kind of compilation sets. Anthony B and Tony Rebel are well known to a wide reggae audience in contrast to Kulcha Knox, actually a great cultural deejay with so much to offer. Tony Rebel and Kulcha Knox attract attention with great efforts, bearing in mind that it isn't that often that they ride a hardcore riddim. Worthy of attention is Kulcha Knox's "Police" as this wicked tune can be counted among this set's standouts. However, let's not forget to mention Anthony B's awesome "Forward", which also should not be overlooked when it comes to pointing out the standout tracks. The list of standouts furthermore includes Mad Cobra's "Different Thing Now", Bounty Killer's "Look War", Nitty Kutchie & Lukie D's "Humble Yuh Self", Frisco Kid's "Coke Out Themselves", Natural Black's "Princess For Life" and Lexxus' "Big Up, Big Up". Also among those not mentioned here one finds enough vibrant cuts to get thrilled.

Teacher & Mr. T.