Various artists album review
Zion Train Volume 1
Jet Star
24 - 04 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Glen Washington - Take The Name Of Jesus
  2. Luciano - Are You Ready ?
  3. Sanchez - Praise Him
  4. Mikie Spice - Jah Love Lifted Me
  5. Lorenzo - God Is Standing By
  6. The Grace Thrillers - Don't Try To Tell Me
  7. Bob Andy - There's A God
  8. Luciano - Sweep Over My Soul
  9. Carlene Davis - My Forever Friend
  10. Judy Mowatt - Oh Happy Days
  11. Michael Prophet - Let Jah Be Praised
  12. Ernie Smith - All For Jesus
  13. Don Campbell - King Of Kings
  14. Ghost - God Lifted Me
  15. The Grace Thrillers - Can't Even Walk
  16. Pamela Maynard - One Day At A Time
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

From the renown UK based reggae distributor Jet Star comes this 16 track compilation cd, focussing on the themes of God's love, spiritual warfare, redemption, and the joy of Christ. In addition to reggae, other musical genres that influence tracks on this album include gospel and soca music. The impressive roster of artists includes well known artists such as Glen Washington, Luciano, Sanchez and Bob Andy. The other artists deliver solid efforts with highlights coming from Don Campbell with King Of Kings, Mikie Spice with the Digital B production Jah Love Lifted Me and reggae veteran Michael Prophet who delivers an awesome tune called Let Jah Be Praised. Reggae superstar Luciano is present here with two well known tunes from recent times : Are You Ready ? and SweepOver My Soul. Long time reggae musician Bob Andy delivers a strong tune with There's A God, while Ghost licks the traditional song God Lifted Me. Traditional gospel outings are delivered by Ernie Smith, The Grace Thrillers, Carlene Davis and Pamela Maynard.
For gospel orientated reggae do check out "Zion Train Vol. 1".

Teacher & Mr. T.